England and Wales both make two changes ahead of Saturday’s clash in Cardiff

Updated 14.45pm

HEAD COACH EDDIE Jones has made two changes to the England starting XV that beat France at Twickenham Stadium as they get set to take on Wales in Cardiff on Saturday (kick-off 4.50pm, RTÉ Two).

Jack Nowell will come in on the right wing with Jack Clifford winning his ninth cap from the back-row.

Tom Wood and Jonny May are included as finishers in an otherwise unchanged bench.

Wales have also made two changes for the match from last Sunday’s win over Italy. Props Rob Evans and Tomas Francis both come into the front row with Nicky Smith and Samson Leen included amongst the replacements.

Jones’ described the match with Wales as one of the biggest in the sport as his side looks to extend their unbeaten run to 16 games.

“Playing Wales in Cardiff is one of the biggest games in world rugby and we’re excited. These are the games you want to be part of as a player and a coach.

“We don’t need extra motivation this week; we play Test rugby because we want to be the best for England. Every game for us is important and our supporters, and Wales is our next game so it’s the most important.”


15. Mike Brown (Harlequins)
14. Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)
13. Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)
12. Owen Farrell (Saracens)
11. Elliot Daly (Wasps)
10. George Ford (Bath Rugby)
9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

1. Joe Marler (Harlequins)
2. Dylan Hartley (captain, Northampton Saints)
3. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
4. Joe Launchbury (Wasps)
5. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
6. Maro Itoje (Saracens)
7. Jack Clifford (Harlequins)
8. Nathan Hughes (Wasps)


16. Jamie George (Saracens)
17. Matt Mullan (Wasps)
18. Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
19. Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)
20. James Haskell (Wasps)
21. Danny Care (Harlequins)
22. Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors)
23. Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby)


15. Leigh Halfpenny (Toulon)
14. George North (Northampton Saints)
13. Jonathan Davies (Scarlets)
12. Scott Williams (Scarlets)
11. Liam Williams (Scarlets)
10. Dan Biggar (Ospreys)
9. Rhys Webb (Ospreys)

1. Rob Evans (Scarlets)
2. Ken Owens (Scarlets)
3. Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs)
4. Jake Ball (Scarlets)
5. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys – Captain)
6. Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues)
7. Justin Tipuric (Ospreys)
8. Ross Moriarty (Gloucester Rugby)


16. Scott Baldwin (Ospreys)
17. Nicky Smith (Ospreys)
18. Samson Lee (Scarlets)
19. Cory Hill (Newport Gwent Dragons)
20. Taulupe Faletau (Bath)
21. Gareth Davies (Scarlets)
22. Sam Davies (Ospreys)
23. Jamie Roberts (Harlequins)

Subscribe to The42 Rugby Show podcast here:

Click Here: vodacom bulls rugby jersey

Good news for Virgin customers as Ireland’s Rugby World Cup games will also be on RTÉAll Black Tuipulotu cleared of doping after B-sample comes back negative

Leave a Reply