2017 to be final Ironman 70.3 UK Exmoor

It was the first official 113km Ironman race in the world and has established itself as one of the toughest middle-distance events on Planet Earth. But its organisers have today confirmed that June’s Ironman 70.3 UK in Exmoor will be the final running of the iconic event.


After starting life in 2001 in North Wales as Half Ironman UK, Ironman UK 70.3 moved to its current home of Wimbleball Lake in the heart of Exmoor National Park in 2006. Since that day, the event has seen over 20,000 athletes tackle the challenging course famed for its chilly 1.9km lake swim, hilly 90km bike and rolling 21.1km mixed-terrain run route.

On the final event this summer, Kevin Stewart, Ironman EMEA Regional Director, added: “Ironman 70.3 UK Exmoor has been an integral part of the development of Ironman over the last decade. Athletes have loved its unique setting, but its remote location has brought about recent logistical challenges. We have, therefore, made the decision to make 2017 the last year to stage and celebrate this historic Ironman 70.3 UK event. We encourage and welcome everyone who wants to be part of its history to join us in Wimbleball on 25th June.”

The UK’s other Ironman 70.3 races are Ironman 70.3 Staffordshire (18th June), the new Ironman 70.3 Edinburgh on 2nd July and Ironman 70.3 Weymouth on 17th September. There’s also Ironman 70.3 Dublin on 20th August.


We’ve teamed-up with the Ironman 70.3 UK Exmoor organisers to offer a ‘220 Promotion’ offering 20 places at the rate of £220.

Head to the race website here and use code 220IMUK703 to secure this short-lived offer.

Click Here: liverpool mens jersey

This will be an age-group only event, as athletes compete for one of 35 qualifying slots to the 2017 Ironman 70.3 World Championship. In addition, there will also be the opportunity for tri clubs to qualify for the Ironman 70.3 EMEA Tri Club Championship.

The race weekend will commence on Saturday 25th June at 3pm with an Ironkids fun run for children aged 3-14 followed by a 5km Irongirl run. To find out more and register online, visit here.

IRONMAN 70.3 UK Winners

2016 Andy Greenleaf, Stephanie Knott

2015 Brennan Townshend, Natalie Seymour

2014 (last Pro race) Will Clarke, Eimear Mullan

2013 Ritchie Nicholls, Eimear Mullan

2012 Philip Graves, Eimear Mullan

2011 Mikel Elgezabal, Emma-Kate Lidbury

2010 Fraser Cartmell, Bella Bayliss

2009 Philip Graves, Catriona Morrison

2008 Fraser Cartmell, Bella Comerford

2007 Fraser Cartmell, Julie Dibens


2006 Chris McCormack, Catriona Morrison

Leave a Reply